England beat Australia by 8 wickets

Australia vs England World Cup 2019 Semi-Final: Hosts England thrashed defending champions Australia by eight wickets in the semifinals to reach the World Cup finals for the fourth time. England now face New Zealand in the summit clash as they aim to fulfill the dream of winning their maiden World Cup trophy. England outperformed Australia in all departments as they first bowled them out for 223 and chased down the target with 17 overs to spare with Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow’s solid 123-run partnership for the first wicket laying the foundation of England’s comprehensive victory. While Roy scored 85 off 65 balls before falling to an umpiring error of Pat Cummins delivery, Bairstow made 34. Joe Root and Eoin Morgan then made no error and ended Australia’s campaign.

Earlier, after electing to bat, Australia got off to a disastrous start as they lost Aaron Finch (0), David Warner (9) and Peter Handscomb (4) with just 14 runs on the board. Smith and Carey then rescued the innings. But, after a solid 103-run stand for the fourth wicket, Adil Rashid once again rattled the Aussies. He got rid of Carey (46) and sent back Marcus Stoinis (0) in the 28th over. Smith and Glenn Maxwell then guided Australia past 150. But Archer struck in the 35th over to end Maxwell’s challenge after a 22-run knock. Pat Cummins (6) became the third victim of Rashid. Mitchell Starc supported Smith in the death overs and took the score past 200. In the 48th over, Smith’s challenge was ended by Jos Buttler’s direct throw.

Catch live score and updates of AUS vs ENG 

ICC Cricket World Cup, 2019Edgbaston, Birmingham 12 July 2019

Australia 223 (49.0)


England 226/2 (32.1)

Match Ended ( Day - 2nd Semi Final ) England beat Australia by 8 wickets

Live Blog

Australia vs England Semi-Final LIVE:


Australia (From): David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

England (From): Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Tom Curran, James Vince, Moeen Ali, Liam Dawson

Follow the Cricket World Cup 2019 live updates and real-time analysis on IndianExpress.com. Check the ICC Cricket World 2019 Schedule, Teams and Points Table.